Ceremony: 200th anniversary of Salzburg joining Austria

12th April 2016 | Photo: ©
Salzburg 2016 - Festakt


On 14th April 1816 the duchy of Salzburg was ceded to Austria as part of a number of territorial exchanges between the Austrian Empire and the Kingdom of Bavaria known as the Treaty of Munich. On 1st May Salzburg that year finally became part of Austria. At the Imperial Residence, the Bavarian coat of arms was taken down and the Austrian double eagle raised in its place.

200 years later the province is taking the commemorative year of 2016 as an opportunity to reflect and celebrate with a variety of cultural events. On the anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Munich, a grand ceremony is to be held at the Salzburg Residenz Palace. Honoured guests Federal President Heinz Fischer, Governor of Salzburg Wilfried Haslauer and Governor of Bavaria Horst Seehofer, will all give addresses. Artistic Director of the Salzburg Festival, Sven-Eric Bechtolf, will deliver the official address to the invited guests in the historic palace.

Musical and cultural entertainment at the gala, which is to be broadcast live on a time delay on ORF III, will be provided by Hubert von Goisern, who will be performing a yodel arranged specially for the occasion, Sabina Hank, Benjamin Schmid, Thomas Riedler & Lukas Wagner, and Ensemble Blechlust from the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg, The Cathedral Chapel Boys and Girls & Cathedral Youth Church Choir, as well as Wolfram Paulus.

Festakt 20.16

Land Salzburg 15th April 2016

Preparations for the 20.16 Ceremony

Land Salzburg 14th April 2016