Hubert von Goisern


Miscellaneous: 2002

Schanzn Frei

Hohtraxlecker Sprungschanzmusi

Hohtraxlecker Sprungschanznmusi have been together for about 22 years, playing the folk music of Salzkammergut at both private and public celebrations.

The group's relationship with Hubert von Goisern goes back a long way, to playing as warm-up at some of the Alpinkatzen concerts. At the last concert in Vienna, Hohtraxlecker came on stage with the Alpinkatzen to play the last song, A Ganze Weil. In the Wia die Zeit Vergeht booklet, they are credited as musicians for this track.

Hubert has wanted to produce with Hohtraxlecker for a long time, and Schanzn Frei developed. Hubert produced the CD and then Wolfgang Spannberger mixed it in his studio in Salzburg.

Schanzn Frei

18.03.02 | EFA 07148

Schanzn Frei

  • 1. hümmö auf da welt
  • 2. boamehla boarischer
  • 3. niederschwing
  • 4. kloans polkerl
  • 5. obertrauner / steirer
  • 6. tschum tschum
  • 7. alter kiahmelcher / alter schleunige
  • 8. alm her / landler
  • 9. oberland-duriganand
  • 10. polka francaise
  • 11. tiroler polka
  • 12. schöffauer / schleunige
  • 13. almfahrt
  • 14. vögöfanga

Playing wit and ability

OÖN 13th April 2002 | Text: rgr

CD of the day

It lives in the ethnic mountain huts. It is warm, the effort from the ascent has passed, the food and drink tasted, the discussions are lively. Suddenly four from the group seize their instruments and play folk music, as unspoilt as it could not be. The Hohtraxlecker Sprungschanznmusi arose from such an ambience 22 years ago. In this atmosphere, the musical tradition of the Salzkammergut, which Maria Obereder, Ludwig Gschwandtner, Martin Neureiter and Dominik Müllegger feel obliged to do, works best. But what, if the surroundings which the roots of the music seem to make the music visible are not in front of the eyes? Then it still works. The album which the Hohtraxlecker Sprungschanznmusi present in top form is called Schanzn Frei (Lawine/Virgin). Prompted by Hubert von Goisern, who also produced the CD, the Styrian accordion, the double bass and the two violins join together to a rousing whole. The Boarischer, the Landler, the Polka - the Sprungschanznmusi pull out all the stops from the treasure chest of tradition and breathe an enormous fresh wind into the traditional things. It is impressive, how the human world of feeling is laid open in the compositions. How close wild happiness (Alm her/ Landler) and melancholy, not to say sorrow, lie next to each other (Oberland-Duriganand). And the playing wit of the four musicians, who do not need any self-important technology for their conduct, always sparkles. They play as their ancestors did. In the mountain hut, or in the studio. And we swing with it whether up on the mountain or down in the valley. Because this folk music is infectious.